MBDA Now Accepting Nominations for MED Week 2011 Awards


Friday, May 13, 2011

Nominations are now being accepted for the Minority Business Development Agency's 2011 Excellence in Minority Business Awards. The awards are designed to recognize exemplary minority businesses and their accomplishments and best practices.

The MED Week Awards Program is designed to celebrate and recognize the outstanding achievements of minority entrepreneurs, as well as individuals and organizations that have demonstrated leadership and commitment in advancing minority business enterprise.  The diversity of the awardees, as it pertains to the constituency served by MBDA, is a key objective of the MED Week Awards Program.

The awards are commemorative and will be given in the following categories:

  • Minority Construction Firm of the Year

  • MED Week 2011 Call for NominationsMinority Manufacturer of the Year

  • Minority Retail Energy Firm of the Year

  • Minority Global Technology Firm of the Year

  • Minority Global Supplier Distributor of the Year

  • Advocate of the Year

  • Media Award

  • Distinguished Supplier Diversity Award

  • Access to Capital Award

  • Ronald H. Brown Leadership Award

  • Abe Venable Legacy Award for Lifetime Achievement

Regional Awards will be given in all categories, except the Ronald H. Brown Leadership Award and the Abe Venable Legacy Award for Lifetime Achievement, in ceremonies in MBDA’s Atlanta, Dallas, Chicago, New York and San Francisco regions, respectively. 

National MED Week Awards, which include all of the awards referenced above, will be given at the annual MED Week Awards Gala held in Washington, D.C.

MBDA will contact winners by phone and may post their names, pictures and biographies on the MBDA and MED Week websites.

Complete electronic or paper nominations must be received by the appropriate MBDA regional or headquarters office no later than May 31, 2011. Deadline extended to June 10, 2011.

If you have any questions regarding the MED Week Awards Program please contact the appropriate MED Week Coordinator at the number referenced in the instructions or Edna Robinson at 202-482-2656 or via email at medweekawards@mbda.gov.


May 31, 2011: Deadline For Receipt of Nominations - Extended to June 10, 2011

June 30, 2011: Regional Winners Announced

July 29, 2011: National Winners Announced

Related content

Last updated: 04/19/2017 - 4:11pm